Ride Rangers Ride!

Greeting this week from Alva Oklahoma. A beautiful small town populated with mainly oilfield workers and centered around the Alva High School. Its been a fun few days! Saying goodbye to Mustang was terrible but I am here now and now its time to go to work! Just like my last area its time to build member relationships with and get the sheep here fed before going out and getting more. The lord seems to be trusting me with building his people and I am not sure why. lol. But its time we have 9 active households which means its time to get going on 39 more. We have a lot of ground to cover though. We work in about eight small surrounding towns as well as in Alva itself. So we have a lot of travel time. I think it would be easier if we were aloud to cam out at the towns and just blitz it instead of having to travel back and forth every time. My companion Elder Esquerra is from Albuquerque NM. Is about twenty three month out on his mission and we are ready to tear this place up! I am in a district where I am the only english elder. This I am thinking is a hint from president that he wants me to do something but I am not sure what yet. So in the meantime instead of napping during my companions language study I have started to learn (or try to learn) spanish. We’ll see how it goes. But I tell you what it keeps going the way it is I will be fluent in about ten years! Other than that this week was saying both goodbye and new beginnings. I am excited! This weeks spiritual thought. I have been coming a cross the scripture lately in Alma 5:26. And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now?” This has been a scriptyure that has caused some deep thought on my part. When have I felt that change of heart and am I feeling it now. This is one of my favorite scriptures to read with less active members. It hits them and kinda brings a spark of the spirit testifying to them of what they need to do to feel that again. It also reminds me of talk by Elder Anderson this last General Conference entitled The Music of the Gospel. My favorite quote out of the entire conference is in this talk he says ” I can teach you to dance but you have to hear the music.” My job out here is to teach people how to live in a way pleasing to our heavenly father they have to find out for themselves the beauty and the reason to dance. I don’t know but that was what was on my mind this week. Hope you can take something from it. Oh and please send comments suggestions and all other forms of written communication to 914 Flynn St. #2 Alva OK 73717. I pray for y’all and hope that you are doing spectacular! PLEASE WRITE! Letters are the holy grail! Everyone wants them but no one knows how to get them. I find that asking is a ok way! Love Y’all have a blessed week!

“…hearken unto these words and believe in Christ: and if ye believe not in these words believe in Christ.”
            2nd Nephi 33:10
                             Elder K. Roundy
Leave a Reply

